技术展示
WFI > Rotec > 技术展示

优于传统反渗透方案的新方法

我们正在通过强大的、长期的内部研发来应对一些世界上最紧迫的水资源挑战。我们所有的旗舰水和废水处理技术都是游戏规则的改变者。它们的表现优于竞争技术,并将饮用水和工业废水转化为安全而有价值的资产。根据WFI集团的愿景,以真正的动力和对人和环境的关心,我们的技术推动了突破性的解决方案,促进了公共健康、可持续性和增长。

 

倒向技术
高回收率的脱盐设备的黄金标准

回流是一项突破性的海水淡化技术,可在新的和现有的反渗透(RO)海水淡化厂实施。这是市场上最具成本效益的解决方案,它允许在保持给水量的同时显著增加产品的水容量。或者,它减少了进料水量,同时保持了产品水量。在所有情况下,回流都降低了盐水拒绝的能力。ROTEC的解决方案可用于各种市场细分的各种应用。

反流技术的原理是周期性地改变盐水流的流向,从而防止膜上形成水垢。此外,ROTEC开发了一种涉及区块重新定位的专利方法,在该方法中,单个区块可以在各阶段之间重新定位,从而可以切换压力容器的区块。除了提高水处理能力,这种方法还可以减少现场清洗(CIP)的频率。

ROTEC凭借其倒向技术在2018年新加坡SIWW 世博上获得“最有价值技术”奖。

Flow Reversal technology

回收率的挑战性

这是基于膜的技术,例如反渗透(RO)以及纳滤(NF),是如今在除盐水领域中最被广泛使用的。

可是,传统的海水淡化反渗透(SWRO)系统通常只能达到45-50%的回收率,传统的苦咸水反渗透(BWRO)只能达到70-80%的回收率。这也就是说剩余了50-55%或是20-30%的浓盐水,同时这一部分水需要按照地方规定进行排放以及处理。现在,由于用水量的增长以及水资源逐渐减少,这些传统的工艺系统就变的不在具有经济效益也不再具有环保效率。

提高回收率的方法限制

提高反渗透系统的回收率其实是简单的,无需变换系统将结构,只需提高系统压力以及在操作方法上做一些小的变化。但也有一些阻碍回收率升高的问题。矿物质的结构,在这工艺在矿物废水结晶的时候,膜组件的表面会出现堵塞的状况,会导致渗透水量的减少,这一主要的阻碍是在苦咸水脱盐过程中出现的。有时甚至发生在普通回收率的系统操作上。

提高系统的回收率也会出现很多问题,例如膜清洗的频率的提高,以及膜的寿命降低等。因此,就需要使用昂贵的阻垢剂,来温和的清洗膜组件。在海水淡化的系统中,渗透压对回收率的限制要高于矿物质金属结构对于含可溶性盐浓度较低的来水,也就减少了结垢问题。海水淡化反渗透系统相较于其他系统来讲的问题主要是污垢的产生(主要为生物污垢)。

反渗透的新流向

我们专利的倒向技术解决了现有的挑战,对比传统的反渗透设备实现了突破性的高产水量以及高经济效益的高回收率效果。这也减小了进水所需的增压以及显著减少了浓水排放量,减少了能耗以及生态足迹。

Technological Principles

ROTEC的专利技术,也就是专利的倒向(FR)技术抑制了结垢且达到了高回收率的效果,这一成果是通过将倒向技术设计加载在普通反渗透脱盐系统上,不论是新建项目还是在现有的设备上进行安装都是可以实现的。

倒流是操作海水淡化系统的一个智能过程,在反渗透膜壳阵列中,盐水流的流向定期切换(见图)。通过周期性地改变流动方向,在未饱和的进水溶液条件下,水垢没有时间在膜表面形成。切换的频率取决于浓缩液中过饱和溶液增长垢粒所需的时间,垢粒能够持续增长。通过使用有效的欠饱和进水在精矿中超过临界粒径之前清除新生的鳞颗粒,可以防止广泛的沉淀。这种方法的回收率比单独使用阻垢剂要高得多。

patented Flow Reversal (FR) technology

在过饱和溶液从浓水中沉淀到膜上之前,逆流开关连接进料和浓缩液。时间由进水成分和操作条件的决定。“变戏法原理”可以防止结垢,即在过饱和溶液析出之前将条件改变为欠饱和状态。
倒向 - 基本原则

倒向技术在工业上的应用

ROTEC进一步改进了倒向技术,使其适用于工业脱盐设备。目前,工业脱盐设备主要采用多级反渗透系统,该系统使用膜壳(pv)的锥形流量安排,以保持顺序级膜壳中正确的液压流量。

膜壳的锥形流动安排涉及到在下游阶段平行放置的膜壳比在上游阶段要少。随着下游级进水流量的减少,膜壳的数量减少,下游压力容器内的交叉流量最小。这有助于防止胶体、有机物和生物材料的污染,同时降低膜表面的盐水浓度。同时,它防止过大的水流流入第一级的单个膜壳。

如果采用一种简单的倒流方法,即进料进入最初的最后一级,精矿从最初的第一级入口被移走,将导致流入最后一级压力容器的流量过高,流出第一级压力容器的流量过低。

为了防止这样的情况发生,ROTEC开发了一种获得专利的方法中各个模块之间可以重新定位阶段,以便阻止压力容器的最后阶段是一块替换相同数量的压力容器从第一阶段通过使用一系列复杂的阀门和阀门测序。

INDUSTRIAL APPLICATION OF FLOW REVERSAL TECHNOLOGY

两个阶段的传统反渗透系统/ 3个模块
440gpm/ 回收率75%

INDUSTRIAL APPLICATION OF FLOW REVERSAL TECHNOLOGY

两阶段的ROTEC倒向反渗透系统/ 有额外的阀门以及管道/
模块A在第二阶段/ 模块间的转变与倒向的需求相适应

水流现在是转变的/ 模块B是第二阶段/ 模块间的转变与倒向的需求相适应

水流现在是转变的/ 模块C是第二阶段/
模块间的转变与倒向的需求相适应

想要从水中获得更多?请联系我们吧

Technology
Rotec > Technology

NOVEL APPROACHES THAT SURPASS THE ALTERNATIVES

We’re tackling some of the world’s most pressing water challenges through robust, long-term, in-house R&D. All our flagship proprietary water and wastewater treatment technologies are game changers. They outperform competing technologies and transform drinking water and industrial wastewater into safe and valuable assets. In line with the WFI Group vision, and with genuine drive and care for people and the environment, our technologies power breakthrough solutions that enhance public health, sustainability and growth.

 

FLOW REVERSAL TECHNOLOGY
THE GOLD STANDARD IN HIGH-RECOVERY DESALINATION

Flow Reversal is a ground-breaking desalination technology that can be implemented in new and existing Reverse Osmosis (RO) desalination plants. Enabling the most cost-effective solution on the market, it allows a significant increase in product water capacity while maintaining the amount of feed water. Alternatively, it reduces the amount of feed water while maintaining the amount of product water. In all cases, Flow Reversal reduces the capacity of the brine reject. ROTEC’s solutions are available in a variety of applications for a variety of market segments.

The principle of Flow Reversal technology is based on periodically changing the flow direction of the saline stream, thus preventing scales from forming on membranes. Additionally, ROTEC developed a patented approach involving block repositioning, in which individual blocks can be repositioned between the stages, so that the blocks of pressure vessels can be switched. Beyond improving water treatment capacity, this approach also allows less-frequent cleaning in place (CIP).

With its Flow Reversal technology, ROTEC won the “Most Valuable Technology” award at SIWW Expo 2018 in Singapore.

THE RECOVERY RATE CHALLENGE

Membrane-based technologies, such as Reverse Osmosis (RO) and Nano Filtration (NF), are the most widespread methods used today for producing fresh water from saline water.

However, standard RO systems typically achieve a recovery rate of just 45%-50% in the case of Sea Water RO desalination (SWRO) and 70%-80% for Brackish Water RO desalination (BWRO). This leaves 50-55% and 20-30% respectively of the feed water as concentrated saline reject (brine), which must be disposed of or treated according to local regulations. Nowadays, as water consumption increases and water resources dwindle, these processes are neither economically nor environmentally efficient.

The Limitations of Methods for Increasing Recovery

Increasing the recovery rate of a RO system is fairly simple, requiring no structural changes to the system aside from increasing system pressure and minor operational adaptations. However, there are significant obstacles to increasing the recovery beyond the typical rates. Mineral scaling, the process in which mineral deposit forms on the membrane surface of a RO element, causing membrane plugging and loss of water permeability, is the main obstacle in BWRO desalination. It sometimes occurs even with standard recovery operations. Increasing recovery rates leads

to numerous operational issues, such as more frequent membrane cleaning, and consequently, a shorter membrane life span. Therefore, the addition of expensive anti-scalant chemicals is required to inhibit and moderate the effects of this phenomenon. In SWRO systems, osmotic pressure issues limit recovery rates more than mineral scaling as the feed water contains relatively low concentrations of sparingly soluble salts, leading to less scaling. SWRO suffer mostly from another type of fouling (mainly biofouling).

A NEW FLOW FOR RO

Our proprietary Flow Reversal technology solves the challenges, enabling dramatically more productive and cost-effective higher recovery than any other RO approach. This decreases the amount of feed water that requires pumping and significantly diminishes the brine, reducing energy costs and eco-footprint.

Technological Principles

ROTEC’s proprietary, patented Flow Reversal (FR) technology prevents scaling even at high recoveries by implanting design changes in standard RO desalination systems, whether new or existing installations.

Flow Reversal is a smart process for operating desalination systems, in which the flow direction of the saline stream in RO pressure vessel arrays is periodically switched (see diagram). By periodically switching the flow direction, scale does not have time to form on membrane surfaces before being swept away by under-saturated feed solution conditions. The frequency of switching is dictated by the time it takes for a supersaturated solution in the concentrate to grow a population of scale particles that can allow continued scale growth. By using the effectively under-saturated feed to sweep away the nascent scale particles in the concentrate before they exceed a critical size, extensive precipitation is prevented. This approach enables much higher recovery rates than can be achieved with anti-scalants alone.

Flow Reversal switches connection of feed and concentrate before supersaturated solutions can precipitate from the concentrate onto the membrane. Timing is determined by knowledge of feed composition and operating conditions. Scaling is prevented by the “juggler principle” – change condition to under-saturation before the supersaturated solution can precipitate.
FLOW REVERSAL – BASIC PRINCIPLE

Industrial Application of Flow Reversal Technology

ROTEC made further improvements to Flow Reversal technology to adapt it to industrial desalination settings, which are dominated by multi-stage RO systems that use a tapered flow arrangement of pressure vessels (PVs) to maintain correct hydraulic flows in the PVs of sequential stages.

The tapered flow arrangement of PVs involves placing fewer pressure vessels in parallel in downstream stages than in upstream stages. With the lower amount of feed flowing in the downstream stage divided between fewer PVs, a minimum crossflow rate is preserved in the downstream pressure vessels. This helps prevent fouling by colloids, organics and biomaterials, while reducing the concentration of salts at the membrane surface. Simultaneously, it prevents too large a stream from flowing into the individual pressure vessels of the first stage.

A simplistic flow reversal method, in which the feed is fed to the original last stage and concentrate is removed from the entrance of the original first stage, would cause the flow to be too high into the last-stage pressure vessels and too low out of the first-stage pressure vessels.

To prevent this, ROTEC developed a patented approach in which individual blocks can be repositioned between the stages, so that the block of pressure vessels from the last stage is switched with a block of equal number of pressure vessels from the first stage by using a sophisticated array of valves and valve sequencing.

2 stages conventional RO | 3 blocks |
440 gpm | RR 75%

2 stages ROTEC FR-RO | Additional valves &
pipes | Block A is 2nd stage | FR adaptation to
tapered flow array

Flow is now reversed | Block B is 2nd stage | FR
adaptation to tapered flow array

Flow is now reversed | Block C is 2nd stage | FR
adaptation to tapered flow array

Looking to gain more from water? Let's talk.